Aizawl FC to host Bengaluru FC in Federation Cup opener

New Delhi, April 25 (IANS) I-League champions Bengaluru FC will take on hosts Aizawl FC in the opening game of the Federation Cup football tournament on April 30.

Record 13-time Federation Cup champions Mohun Bagan will face four-time winners Salgaocar FC on May 2.

East Bengal will take on Shillong Lajong, who beat them 1-0 on Sunday to escape I-League relegation, in their opening match of the tournament on May 1.

The top eight teams as per the standings of the I-League will be playing in the knock-out format on a Home and Away basis including the semi-finals. The final match will be played at a neutral venue on May 21.

Round One is scheduled to be played on April 30, May 1 and May 2; while Round 2 will be played on May 3, 4 and 5, 2016.

The first round of the semi-finals is to be played on May 7 and May 8 with the return legs slated for May 14 and 15.

The draw:

Round 1: Aizawl FC vs Bengaluru FC (April 30).

Salgaocar SC vs Mohun Bagan (May 2).

Shillong Lajong FC vs Kingfisher East Bengal (May 1).

Mumbai FC vs Sporting Clube de Goa (May 1).

Round 2:

Bengaluru FC vs Aizawl FC (May 3).

Mohun Bagan vs Salgaocar FC (May 5).

Kingfisher East Bengal vs Shillong Lajong FC (May 4).

Sporting Clube de Goa vs Mumbai FC (May 4).

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form