20 Indian athletes to attend Tokyo Olympics opening ceremony

Chennai, 22 July: India will send 20 athletes, accompanied by six officials, for the opening ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics on July 23.

London Olympics bronze medallist M. C. Mary Kom and Indian men’s hockey team captain Manpreet Singh will be India’s flag bearers. The table tennis quartet, sailing team and boxing squad will also be present, along with gymnast Pranati Nayak and swimmer Sajan Prakash.



RELATED|  Tokyo Olympics India full schedule 2021: Events, Dates, Fixtures, Timings in IST

The likes of 2016 Olympics silver medallist P. V. Sindhu, the world number one archer Deepika Kumari and tennis star Sania Mirza, the first Indian woman to play in four editions of the Olympics, will miss the opening ceremony. None of the shuttlers, shooters, archers and tennis players will be in attendance, while both the hockey teams will also skip the event. Weightlifter Mirabai Chanu, one of India’s brightest medal prospects, and judoka Shushila Devi will also be among the absentees since they are both are in action the following day.

With local fans banned from attending the opening ceremony, the organisers have also restricted the number of officials from each nation to six. The opening ceremony will be held at the Olympic Stadium from 4:30 pm IST (8 pm local time) onwards.

The post 20 Indian athletes to attend Tokyo Olympics opening ceremony appeared first on Zoram News.

Previous Post Next Post